Life Tree Climber or Life Tree Shelterer?

Metaphorically speaking do you consider yourself predominantly a Tree Climber or Tree Shelterer? 

As always prior to writing any of my blogs or poetry an unexpected thought pops into my head taunting me until I explore it further. This blog is no exception.

I was thinking about someone I have known for several  years who, as much as their talk convincingly says that they want to change the way they walk in life, their actual life walk indicates the complete opposite! Their talk talks of change but their walk walks  a repetitive pattern.

Their talk of change hoping to deliver a more financially rewarding and personally fulfilling life is always extremely convincing but unfortunately is also part of their recurring pattern! I believe that they sincerely do want to climb a challenging life tree to gain a higher more expansive view of life – and I know that they do take intentional powerful strides towards the trees they hope to climb – but  then in fear of failure and immense self doubt they simply give up!

Instead of taking on the challenge of their envisaged climbs they simply shelter in security at the base of the tree or in other words in their old safety zone of familiarity- instead of taking on the challenge of the climb which would instil in them a heightened sense of self-esteem together with a  a whole new exciting view of life!
Not being able to break ‘stuck’ patterns really is a killer! It slowly kills one’s spirit for life which I consider could be classified  as  a form of soul suicide!

Initial Tree Climbs Don't Have to Be Huge -Tree Climbs Can Grow Over Time Just the Way a Tree Does!

Then I had to ask myself  a few immediate questions:-

  • Was I a Life Tree Climber or a Life Tree Shelterer?
  • Was I seeing this non-serving pattern in another as a mirror reflection of a non-serving pattern of my own?
  • Or was I actually a little of both?

With the right motivation coupled with sense of belief all Life Tree Climbs are possible!

The answers to these three questions all flowed into one collective answer that was a definite yes to the third question- I am a little of both.

Since I was a kid I have loved climbing trees and I still jump at every opportunity I have to climb a tree. My inner child always breaks free in the close vicinity of a tree. I love sitting high in the branches and looking at life from this secluded lone place in a new way. After a successful tree climb I always feel rejuvenated.

I will always attempt a climb but sometimes a tree sort of looks down at me from its higher branches and laughing say ‘No way can you climb all of me!’- and it proves to be right because I let it be right. I let the seed of doubt the tree offers me grow into reality and I give up!
However I do generally give my every attempted life tree climb my best shot, and sometimes I make it all the way to the top while  other times I only make it part way- but there are times I must confess when I don’t even attempt the climb – when I don’t even put one foot on the trunk of the tree in an effort to make the climb.
Sadly I do sometimes turn my back on a Life Tree that I should climb as I allow fear as self doubt to cripple any heightening movement within me!

I then simply sit at the base of the tree leaning on the strength of the it’s trunk and shelter under its embracing branches as I ponder the cause of my spirit’s paralysis! Often I am gifted an epiphany as I shelter in the caressing safety of the tree, but sometimes I’m not – sometimes my frustration builds and I simply get overly angry with myself for not trying.

Yet somewhere inside of me I do always know that any unsuccessful or failed attempt to climb only helps serve to make me  more determined on my next climb!

Do I have any ‘stuck’  Life Tree Sheltering patterns I need to deal with in my life? Of course I do or else I wouldn’t have been drawn to look at the ‘stuck’ patterns of another! Do I need to disclose what those patterns are here or face to face to others? No- but of course that’s a personal choice. Knowing me I will probably share my feelings with another or maybe I will simply go and sit meditatively under a tree expecting and epiphany of  how I am to break this annoying semi-crippling ‘stuck’ life pattern I still habour!

Trees can be a TREE-mendous source of inspiratrion.

Kids instinctively love to climb trees. Kids are eager to see as much of life as possible! Kids know that to see more of life they need to be higher. And kids aren’t afraid to climb to any height until adults tell them there is fear involved in every climb – and that some climbs are just too dangerous to even attempt and forbid kids from making climbs that kids were  unafraid to take!

The ‘fear and self doubt’  seed has then been planted and it slowly noxiously grows until in adulthood many of the  natural life serving instincts we as children honoured die – smothered by the choking weed of fear!

Kids just know the best way to live and grow!

Animals trust trees! Wild animals know trees offer vantage points of safety!  Trees branches feed and shelter animals!

Without Fear There is Nothing to Fear!

The worth of  Climbing Challenging Life Trees is incredible but we all learn at different rates in life – and we all Life Climb or don’t Life Climb in different ways.
One thing is for sure in life and that is that our differences serve us all. Without differences life would be boring and who would we teach and from whom would we learn!
As I previously said I love Climbing Live Trees and I do more often than not attempt to Climb Life Challenging Trees put in my Life Path but whatever I do – and whatever you do,  we do all avail ourselves to invaluable life learning lessons throughout our lives!
Life Lessons don’t always need to be expansive and these less expansive lessons can be  gained beneath the shelter of a tree – but some Life Lessons do require a climb to be made to the very top of the tree!

Life IS Filled with Limitless in-TREE-guing TREE-mendous Possibilities! And we each house TREE-mendous Life Potential!

Kerry Guy©

Life Tree Climbing or Life Tree Sheltering is a Choice!

Leave a Reply

